July 2017

Sonnet | 14/07/17

Todays writing prompt encourages me to do something even more different to yesterday, today’s challenge is a poem! I cannot remember the last time I wrote a poem, let alone a decent one, let’s be honest, that has probably never happened! That being said, I’m going to give it a go.

Since I’m not a poet (and I know it!) I have googled ‘what is a sonnet?’ According to my good friend, the internet; A sonnet is a poem of an expressive thought or idea made up of 14 lines, each line being 10 syllables long. Its rhymes are arranged according to one of two schemes (either Italian or English.) I’m not 100% sure if my sonnet is right, let alone decent so please try and keep the judgy comments at bay!

 

HI, MY NAME IS ALICE, NICE TO MEET YOU,

I’M 19 YEARS OLD, LIVING IN ESSEX,

I LOVE READING, WRITING AND SHOPPING TOO,

I HAVE A SMALL SISTER, BORN IN ’06,

A FRIDAY NIGHT IN WITH TAKEOUT IS BEST,

DISNEY IS MY FAVOURITE PLACE TO BE,

MY DISNEY NUMBER ONE IS BE OUR GUEST,

BUT, I ALSO LOVE ARIEL – UNDER THE SEA,

I LOVE ALL THE BOOKS, I COULD READ ALL NIGHT,

MY BOYFRIEND ALWAYS WANTS TO GO TO SLEEP,

THIS IS WHY WE ALWAYS GET IN A FIGHT,

LUCKILY I KNOW THAT HE’S ONE TO KEEP,

NOW YOU’VE LEARNT A LOT ABOUT ME, BUT STOP,

LEAVE ME A COMMENT AND SEE WHO’S ON TOP!

 

I honestly can’t believe how long that took me to write! Don’t forget to leave a comment and follow my instagram for more! 

Love, Alice x

 

 

Leave a Reply

