Monday 1st May: Bank Holiday

Today was my favourite sort of day, a bank holiday with no plans what so ever. I’m a girl that loves a to do list so a day with no plans where I can just stay in my pyjamas and get shit done is right up my street. I woke up fairly early mostly to get myself back into a bit of a routine but also because I like dropping my boyfriend at the station in the mornings when I’m off.

I came back from the station and I got myself some very unhealthy breakfast; a packet of crinkles and a tube of smarties. Oops. I got started on my coursework straight away and almost managed to complete another unit. I’ve managed to write plenty of blog posts (Disney day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, an April round up and some vegetarian BBQ ideas – look at me go!) I also managed to wash my hair and put a hair mask on it because I’m making all sorts of efforts now I’m an Essex bird. I used my online banking to let my bank know that I will be going away this month so that my card doesn’t get declined when I get a bit too drunk and try and buy shots for everyone in Berlin! Finally I cooked dinner for my boyfriend, tonight I made a potato bake using up lots of bits that we had left in the fridge from last weeks shopping and it was quite nice.

dinner.jpg

3 x large baking potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
2 x carrot, peeled and roughly chopped
1 x red pepper, deseeded and roughly chopped into small chunks
1/2 bag of spinach, washed
2 tbsp cream cheese
1 x garlic clove, peeled and grated
1/2 packet of cherry tomatoes, chopped in half
1 jar of four cheese pasta sauce
Parsley to Garnish

First I spread the cream cheese across the bottom of a large square casserole dish and then I sprinkled the garlic over the top. I put a layer of potato then half the spinach topped with half the carrots, pepper, and a third of the tomatoes. I covered the layer with 1 third of the jar of sauce. I topped with another layer of potato and topped it with the rest of the spinach, carrot and peppers. I put another third of the tomatoes and another third of the sauce. I did a final layer of potatoes topped with the remaining sauce. I finished the dish with the left over tomatoes and some parsley on the top. I cooked the dish for 25 minutes at 180, I then covered the dish with tinfoil and cooked for a further 40 minutes at 200.

After dinner I caught up on the only way is essex and then I did a 7 minute exercise routine using a new app that I have recently downloaded called ‘Seven’ where you have a 7 minute full body work out which uses no equipment. Its the first time I’ve used it but it was quite good, the only thing that was a bit tricky is that I have a very small room so it was a bit tricky to do all the exercises but that is definitely not a fault with the app!

I also used another app which I have recently downloaded which is head space. I want to get myself in the habit of doing exercise and meditating each evening. I know it takes a little while to get into those habits but I want to try really hard to get them into my evening routines.

As for the rest of my evening; I’m going to watch one born every minute and then once my boyfriend comes to bed we’ll probably finish the night with the project runway final.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

