February 2017

February 22nd 2017

Today started exactly the same as yesterday did, woke up early, got up late and had my favourite breakfast. Once I dropped my boyfriend at the station and got to work I actually had a pretty good day. We are making a ‘we’re going on a bear hunt’ display board so we had lots of fun walking paint footprints everywhere, painting with tooth brushes, soil and glitter. Tomorrow it’s time for the swirling, whirling snowstorm and the big dark forrest.

Once I got home my boyfriend and I cooked dinner, today was another variation of a Lucy Mechlenburgh recipe; Veggie chilli.

1 x onion (peeled and chopped)
1 tbsp vegetable oil
3 x garlic cloves (peeled and chopped)
1 x tbsp paprika
1 x tin of butter beans
1 x tin of chickpeas
1 x tin of kidney beans
6 x large tomatoes (diced)
1 cup of passata
2 cups of quinoa 
First we chopped and peeled all of the onion, garlic and tomatoes. We gently heated the oil and fried the onion and garlic for a couple of minutes before adding in all of the beans and seasoning with paprika. These were cooked for 2-3 minutes before adding chopped tomatoes and 1 cup of pasta. We added 300ml water and boiled before turning the temperature right down and leaving for 15 minutes. We cooked some quinoa in a separate pan according to the packet instructions and then once the water had been soaked up, we added this to the chilli pan. Everything was cooked for a further 10 minutes before serving. Usually I like to serve a veggie chilli with nachos but to be honest with the quinoa and the beans this was so filling that it didn’t need anything else!

After dinner and washing up, we did some clothes washing and now I’m typing this, as always – I’m so ready to snuggle up in bed! A lot of the children at work have been coming down with a bug thats spreading around and I’m feeling incredibly ill so fingers crossed I can sleep it off tonight because no way do I want to be ill again! Goodnight! 

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-13-50-05

 

Leave a Reply

