February 2017

February 21st 2017

I woke up today just a bit before my alarm which would have been really good except for the fact I then lay in bed on my phone until 30 minutes after my alarm, oops! When I finally got up, in a bit of a rush, I made myself some breakfast – strawberries, raspberries and blueberries, topped with greek yoghurt, maple syrup and desiccated coconut. I mixed it all together and it was so yummy and kept me going until lunch time! I quickly got ready for work and dropped my boyfriend off before I went to work myself.

It was a pretty busy day at work because there was quite a few people off sick because theres a bug going around which meant a few of the children we had in were quite ill and had to be sent home too. Despite being a bit busy, it was actually not a bad day but none the less I was thrilled to walk out at 6pm! I picked my boyfriend up from the station and we headed home to cook dinner.

We made a vegan parsnip and chickpea curry inspired by the recipe in Lucy Mecklenburgh’s body beautiful book however we did alter it a little bit because we didn’t have all the ingredients and I cannot stand any spice what so ever!

1 x 400g tin of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
7 x Garlic cloves (peeled and finely chopped)
1 x onion (peeled and finely chopped)
300ml water
1 tbsp of vegetable oil
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp paprika 
1/2 cup of ground almonds
1 x tin of chopped tomatoes
500g Parsnips (peeled and cut into chunks)
Salt and pepper for seasoning
Fresh lime juice

Heat oil in a large frying pan and add most of the garlic (keeping back about 2 tbsp) and onions. Fry for 1-2 minutes and add cumin, paprika and ground almonds. Fry for 2-3 minutes, add tin of tomatoes and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add chickpeas and chopped parsnips, cover with 300ml water. Add salt and pepper to taste and bring to the boil. Stir and simmer for 20 minutes (uncovered) or until parsnips are tender. (We found that they didn’t all go soft because they weren’t all submerged in the water so try and keep as many of them in the water as possible.) While the curry was cooking we cooked basmati rice to serve with it however you could easily serve it with a salad, spinach or toast depending on your preference. Once the rice was cooked we boiled the curry for a few minutes to help the sauce thicken a little bit, in hind sight we let it thicken a bit too much but it was fine! Before serving we squeezed in a little lime juice and added the remaining garlic. We stirred it in over a low heat for literally a minute or two (however long it took me to dish up the rice!)

It was really yummy, I think if I do it again I might add some coconut milk or desiccated coconut, I also think that if you were into spicy foods then it would be nice with a few more spices but literally I cannot stand any spice at all so it was perfect for me!

After dinner, we did the washing up, I sent some emails and washed my hair and now I’m writing this up before jumping into bed to watch some Netflix and maybe I’ll make a peppermint tea! Goodnight.

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-13-50-05

One thought on “February 21st 2017

Leave a Reply

